The Hunger Games #1

The Hunger Games #1 by Suzanne Collins

 foto-54 stars

“Winning will make you famous. 
Losing means certain death.

The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.

When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives. , she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature”.

While reading this I was truly petrified but yet still intrigued. I kept on turning the pages and waiting for the next move… The next breath… Or the sound of a battering wing of a Mockingjay.


“May the odds be ever in your favor!” 

I’m a girl who doesn’t like the exaggerated hype whether if it’s a book or a movie, or a book turned into a movie, but this was truly something. I’m glad that I’m waited a bit longer and escaped the hype of it all, and read it on my own terms. Wow… What a great reading experience!

There are so many great elements in this book; excitement, drama, death, the battle between good vs. evil and my favourite part: a tiny hint of hope that always lurks around in the background. The concept is awful, but still so fascinating. You get so happy that you don’t have to walk in Katniss’ shoes and experience the traumatic drama that she goes through. Being in the arena and always being aware of death hiding in the shadows.

It reminded me of George Orwell’s “1984” and William Golding’s “Lord of the Flies”. A blend of these two is just too scary to even think about, but Suzanne Collins manages it perfectly with her great and visual writing style. She is aware of the reader and is always a step in front, so you never know what is going to happen. I really enjoyed the reading of this book. The language is brilliant, the descriptions so vivid and the heroine (Katniss) is so strong and unique, so you keep rooting for her, silently, while turning the pages.

 “You’re not leaving me here alone,” I say. Because if he dies, I’ll never go home, not really. I’ll spend the rest of my life in this arena, trying to think my way out.”

 

I know that the trilogy of The Hunger Games is definitely on my reading list and I will read them as soon as possible. Can’t wait! I won’t say much more about it, because it is indeed a great book, so I wouldn’t like to spoil anything. Just let the book speak for you…

One thought on “The Hunger Games #1

Leave a Reply

