Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the boy next door by stephanie perkins

foto 3 (5).JPG

4 stars

I was amused while reading the first book in this series (”Anna and the French Kiss”). Although, I thought it was a bit too girly for my taste. However, I’m really glad that I decided to read this book (2nd book in the series out of 3). The story is well written, it’s funny and the plot evolves nicely and appropriately. The lack of details and uniqueness that I missed with the character of Anna in the first book, I can totally see in the character of Lola. She is lovely – who wouldn’t love and root for the rebel?

“I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.”

Even though, the story is a bit predictable as the first book, I like this better than the other. I don’t know why, but I felt that I could identify with the characters and what they went through. It’s interesting to read Lola’s journey towards finding herself, the problems with her family (in this case, her mother) and the crucial relationship with the boy next door. I like the fact that she is not a perfect girl, but she is the normal girl that you can identify yourself with. She is brave and dresses how she wants, no matter what other people say. She has a certain uniqueness about her, which only makes me like her more.

The idea of the boy next door
The most important plot in the story is Lola’s relationship/friendship/flirt-ship with Cricket Bell. It’s great to see how they get to know each other again throughout the story and cute that they send messages to each other and visit each other secretly during the night, while looking at the sky.
…. Who doesn’t like a Dawson + Joey-romance? (I dooo!)

“What just happened?”
“Your father invited the former love of your life in for pie.”
“Yeah, that’s what I thought.”

This was a pleasure to read and I will definitely read the next and last book in the series (“Isla and the Happily Ever After”). Even though, it is a simple story with a simple plot, it totally works. I would recommend it for every girl, even the realistic one’s who think they don’t like romance 😉

One thought on “Lola and the Boy Next Door

Leave a Reply

