Twilight (Twilight #1)

Twilight (Twilight #1) af Stephanie Meyer

1 1  (1).JPG

five stars

Where to start? This is a book that everyone either hates or loves, and it’s difficult to read it without being biased of some opinion. I was lucky!
I had never read the books or seen the movies before I dived into this series. Whenever the hype is too big with certain books or movies, then I tend to back off. Do you know the feeling? You tend to get disappointed, right?

However, one day in 2013 I decided to dive into this book (very objectively in mind!) and I’m glad that I did. I absolutely fell in love. I must say that every reading experience is unique and subjective, and for me, this novel really worked. It got under my skin, made me fall in love and most importantly, it gave me hope after a very stressed and dark period in my life.

“Even more, I had never meant to love him. One thing I truly knew – knew it in the pit of my stomach, in the center of my bones, knew it from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet, knew it deep in my empty chest – was how love gave someone the power to break you”.

I was spellbound by the two main characters, Edward and Bella, and their extremely haunting love. As a reader you really get the feeling of being unconditionally in love, and it’s amazing. An overwhelming love centered in the heart of the trees, in the middle of nowhere. What’s not to love?

When I read the novel, I didn’t feel that Edward was possessive, but rather, I saw him as being completely in love and overwelmed by it. With Bella, I could easily identify and feel what she was going through. Many people know the feeling of not truly belonging somewhere, and with this fact, she as a character caught me off guard.

I had never really read vampire fiction before besides the classic tale “Dracula, and this mix with love and vampires intriqued me to keep on reading, which I am happy I did! I quickly finished the entire series and was hooked from beginning until the end.

One day (May 2016) I would be so lucky to have the chance to visit Forks and see how the town was really characterized by the story, e.g. visiting Bella’s house, seeing her truck, visiting the school, police station, outdoor shop, and finally seeing La Push. I felt completely at home, and it was as if the characters seemed more alive now that I had the chance to see it all for myself.

“I like the night. Without the dark, we’d never see the stars”.

Leave a Reply

