Field Guide to the End of the World

Field Guide to the End of the World
by Jeannine Hall Gailey

foto (3).JPG

4-stars

Thanks to Poetic Book Tours!

”Field Guide to the End of the World” is a poetry collection written by Jeannine Hall Gailey.

How do I even start? How can a string of words make you not able to express a single word? Well, I’ll try anyway.

This poetry collection is brilliant. It’s fascinating and it truly defines modern poetry. When you start reading it, you are introduced to different glimpses of everyday-life, but it is so much more than that.  Jeannine Hall Gailey creates a perfect setting for us, where we can read, reflect and develop ourselves. In a way, Jeannine Hall Gailey really gave me hope. She lets the words explain the simplest things yet the most deep and powerful ones. How we should not settle with life if we wish more of it, how we should see life as a journey and not only the result of it and at last; life is worth living to the fullest, and there is always hope no matter which situation you find yourself in.

“with games, whistling in the dark. You and I
pass the crayons back and forth, telling each other
once more the story of creation, stories of genomes

while the kind rabbits scramble over hills out of the sun.
Squabbing, we’re in a hurry to reach the end of our journey
settle down in our final destination”

There is so much to write about this poetry collection. Yet, I don’t want to spoil your reading experience, but it is fascinating how Jeannine Hall Gailey has created her poetry. Each poem is filled with symbolism, sensuous language, metaphors and hints that make us reflect, and think about life, death, dreams, goals and identity.

The titles open up to an entire story, and even before you start reading the actual text, your mind is exploding with descriptions and associations. There are no borders in contemporary literature and Jeannine Hall Gailey truly exemplifies this in her poetry. An example of this is the different scenarios presented in the poem  “Yearbook: Not pictured”, which presents reminiscence, memories and possible “what if’s”-situations.

Some of the poems made me wonder and reflect. Others in a way seemed too simple and anonymous but once in a while, a poem truly broke me. So in a way, the “simple” poems were good because I wasn’t forced to blink my tears away after every poem J

Especially this poem really got to me:

“I can’t write you a note about this, I won’t say
So long, farewell, like I’m going on a trip
All I can do is capture these reminders, frame by frame
these calls to life, to bleeding and feeding and ferociously
taking up space and time. Here, these flowers say, here we were”

With these beautiful lines I will end this review and get ready for the next precious moment in my life. I can’t thank you enough, Jeannine Hall Gailey.

8 thoughts on “Field Guide to the End of the World

  1. I agree with Serena, Eva. Your review is beautiful. I am also on the tour for this book. My review is very different from yours. Please stop by when you have a few moments (my review is long so feel free to skim it).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

