The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

Q (5).JPG

Titel: The Raven – Forfatter: Edgar Allan Poe

★★★★★

I simply cannot be objective about this poem. First of all, it is my favourite poem of all times and every time I read it I feel surprised, haunted, sad and thrilled. How can poetry move you this way?
Edgar Allan Poe has this certain something that makes you enthralled and continously drags you to study his words, metaphors, symbolism and the intense sensuous language.

Here I opened wide the door;— Darkness there, and nothing more.

The language is honest and simple but yet so filled with the darker layers of Poe’s poetical and literary universe. As well as the language, the message is clear, but is still open to different interpretations. Every time I read the poem I realize that there is something new to it – something I hadn’t realize earlier.

“Other friends have flown before — On the morrow he will leave me, as my hopes have flown before.” Quoth the raven, “Nevermore.”

Q (4).JPG

The poem has inspired me very much in my life, the way I look at literature and most importantly, in my songwriting. One of my songs After midnight is inspired by it ♫

I love that poetry can take you to places, where you suddenly realize something about life, your surroundings and most importantly; yourself. This is what really great poetry does to me – like this poem by Poe.
The poem tells a beautiful, dark, bleak and honest story, meanwhile the reader is captured into this specific universe where it is too tempting to linger – so one can explore more…

One can almost hear the basking wings…

Leave a Reply

