FORFATTER-INTERVIEW # Maria Turtschaninoff

Billedresultat

OMKRING BOGEN MARESI

Læs anmeldelsen af Maresi her.

foto 5.JPG

1.     Mention three fun facts that your fans maybe don’t know about
you
I love cooking, I have kept a diary since I was seven years old, I have had many hobbies including glassblowing.

2.     When did you know that you wanted to become an author?
I cannot remember exactly, but I think it was around the time I started writing my own stories at the age of five.

3.     How long have you been writing? And what started it?
I have been writing ever since (the age of five that is), but professionally for almost ten years.

4.     Who discovered you? (Did you contact publishing houses? How was
the process?)
I had a manuscript for a children’s book that I kept sending out and that kept getting rejected. One publishing house kept giving me good feedback with the rejections, so I kept rewriting and sending in. Eventually the book got accepted – but the last version looked nothing like the first! The only thing that remained the same was the name of the main characters.

5.     How many books have you published (so far)? And which genre?
I have published one cookbook, one children’s book and five YA novels. All my novels are fantasy.

6.     Why this story? What made you choose this specific theme?
It was Maresi who appeared first, and started talking to me. I fell in love with her voice and began writing down what she was saying, because I knew she had an interesting story to tell. The story came first, the themes in it appeared gradually.

7.     What inspires you to write? Which authors have inspired you?
(Music, art, things in life?)
Writing itself inspires me to write. It’s the best thing in the world to me, and I have so many stories I want to tell. I have many authors who have inspired me, some when I was younger (C.S. Lewis, Lloyd Alexander, Astrid Lindgren, Tove Jansson, Diana Wynne Jones) and others now when I am an adult (Ursula Le Guin, Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman etc).

8.     What is the message of your book? How should the reader
interpret it?
There is no rule for how a reader should interpret any of my novels! That’s the beauty of literature – to each reader it’s a different book, a different story, and everyone finds something different to take with them from that tale.

9.     How do you identify with the character(s) in your book?
Maresi is the closest to me of any of my characters. But I do think she is more positive, and more confident in herself, than I am.

10.  What are you currently reading?
Right now I am reading about fifteen books at the same time. I know, I know… It’s terrible. The newest that I have begun is Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho.

11.  Mention 3 book titles that you wish to recommend
This summer I have read and loved The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett, we were liars by e. lockhart and The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud.

12.  When is your next book going to be published?
Naondel, the prequel to Maresi, is coming out any day now! First in Swedish and in a few weeks in Finnish. It will be out in the UK in January 2017. It has not been sold to Denmark yet, unfortunately. One of my previous novels, Arra, is out in Danish however.

Links:
Website
Twitter
Goodreads
Facebook

Leave a Reply

