Forfatter-interview # Mårten Melin

melin_macc8arten_press.jpg

Læs anmeldelsen af Jeg er love her

  1. Mention three fun facts that your fans maybe don’t know about you

Hmm … I have met Stan Lee, I have everything Hank Williams recorded, and I am left-handed!

  1. When did you know that you wanted to become an author?

Maybe when I was six years old and wrote books at home, with front pages and everything. The first one was called The Diving Man.

  1. How long have you been writing? And what started it?

Since I was six … I guess it started with having a lot of books around me, and comic books! And a lot of people who read, both to me and on their own. I must have realised that writing was something you could do for a living.

  1. Who discovered you? (Did you contact publishing houses? How was the process?)

I wrote a poetry book for small children and sent it to a publishing house, Eriksson & Lindgren, and they published it! They had published two books illustrated by Emma Adbåge and she got the job to illustrate the collection.

  1. How many books have you published (so far)? And which genre?

I have published 60 books. A lot of easy to read-books for different ages, and novels for the middle graders, and poetry books.

  1. Why this story? What made you choose this specific theme?

I like to write about love and friendship. And I had already written a book about the Skogsbingel school, and wanted to use it for another story. I had also already written a book with the love god Cupid as a make believe character, and was wondering: What if he really existed …?

  1. What inspires you to write? Which authors have inspired you? (Music, art, things in life?)

Mostly comic books … Spider-Man and Ms. Marvel are two favorites. But also books which have the same themes I write about myself. I love music and going to the movies.

  1. What is the message of your book? How should the reader interpret it?

I just want the reader to have fun while reading it.

  1. How do you identify with the character(s) in your book?

I think about how I was when I was twelve, and how I (and my classmates) reacted to different kind of things.

  1. What are you currently reading?

Meg Rosoff’s How I live now.

  1. Mention 3 book titles that you wish to recommend

The Master and Margarita, Moominvalley in November and the first collection of the Ms. Marvel comic book, No normal.

  1. When is your next book going to be published?

Soon!

Links:
Website

Leave a Reply

