Forfatter-interview #55 K.A. Tucker

4866520.jpg

Læs anmeldelsen af Ti små åndedrag foto (31)

Mention three fun facts that your fans maybe don’t know about you.

I am Canadian, I never took a creative writing course in school, and I can go weeks without leaving my house (that last one might not be so much “fun” as it is concerning.)

When did you know that you wanted to become an author?
I began writing novels almost eight years ago, when my second daughter was just three months old. At first it was just an escape for me, during the difficult months of a cranky newborn, but it quickly morphed into a passion that I am so thankful for having found.

 

Who discovered you? (Did you contact publishing houses? How was the process?)
I queried a few agents while writing my first book, a YA dystopian paranormal fantasy, but got nowhere with that. So, I decided to self-publish. When I self-published Ten Tiny Breaths (my fourth book), it did very well and I attracted the interest of both my agent and my publisher.

How many books have you published (so far)? And which genre?
In total, 14 books: 4 self-published, and 10 traditionally published. My 15th book, Until It Fades, will be releasing on June 27th, and my 16th book is with my editor. I’ve written in genres ranging from fantasy to contemporary romance, to suspense.

What inspires you to write? Which authors have inspired you? (Music, art, things in life?)
I have always loved stories. I read and write to be entertained. A lot of my inspiration comes from the news. I spend hours scrolling through news feeds. I especially like the stories that seem too crazy to be real.

How do you identify with the character(s) in your book?
I consider myself to be a strong woman (as well as stubborn and impatient.) The easiest characters for me to write are the stubborn and impatient ones. All of them are strong though, in their own way.

What are you currently reading?
Dating You/Hating You by Christina Lauren (two of my favourite romance writers.)

Mention 3 book titles that you wish to recommend
George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series,  Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery, and Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

When is your next book going to be published?
Until It Fades release on June 27th It’s a contemporary romance about a young, single mother who saves the life of a handsome and famous hockey player, and struggles to avoid the spotlight. It has a Cinderella-esque feel to it.

Thank you for having me here!

 

Links:
Website
Goodreads
Lindhardt & Ringhof

Leave a Reply

